Tags

, , , ,

I woke up at 6 to pack the rest of my things and head out to meet at the pickup point so Laura could take me to Coruna. Looking out the window with the alarm going off I could see the grayness even with the sun still hidden behind the horizon.  Pack was strapped on and I headed out into the rain, stopping every so often to ask if I was headed in the right direction.

I haven’t mentioned it but the wind in this part of Spain seems to really get kicking at times. While I was walking my umbrella had only minimal effect on keeping me dry; my pants were wet from my thighs to my ankles and my boots that I thought were water proof were pretty wet.  After waiting a bit at the Repsol, Laura, the lady I met in the cafe the other day,  called to say she was across the street and down and bit.

Her hospital is about 20 minute bus ride outside of town so she said I was going to have to take the bus from her work. When we got parked I grabbed my bag quickly trying not to let too much rain into the car. A bus had just got to the stop so I hopped in to ask the driver if it was the correct one; before I could tell Laura thanks she had gone. I had 1.45 Euro in my pocket, five cents over the bus fare.

The bus dropped me at the bus station where I figured I could wait out the rain storm before trying to find an internet café. I sat on a bench and started falling asleep. I figured I would put my feet up on the bench. No one said anything for about 20-30 minutes but then I was awoken by a security guard saying I can’t put my feet on the bench.  I sat up and took out my breakfast, some nuts and dry cereal and was munching away when two police officers approached me. Without asking any other questions they asked for my documents.

I am not sure of my rights here in Spain but I certainly feel they were violated I hadn’t done anything that warrants them writing down my information in their little book; makes me think of the teachers strategy of carrying a clipboard and writing down random things to intimidate the students who think the notes are about them. I almost gave them my passport instead of my Resident card but then I remembered that the visa in the passport expired in November or December.

After a while the rain let up and I took off to look for the tourist office. I walked the perimeter of the whole area where there was some Stonehenge-esque structures then these weird human height, oval stones with squares cut out of them. Along the coast near the tower of Hercules there was this sound sculpture called the “caracol” (snail) which was a huge metal curved funnel, capturing the sound of the ocean and directing it to you via a giant overhead metal pipe.

I checked out the tower of Hercules, a roman lighthouse and walked back towards town for lunch. Shortly later Leandra called so we met in the plaza near her place and went for a drink and went home to meet her roommate Roman, who is an Austrian studying hydrology.

After resting a bit Leandra and I went for some tapas and learned that you can make great garlic soup with just bread, garlic, and some pieces of salchicha. After tapas we went to a place where she goes to get barbeque… not the sauce but meat grilled over coals; I had forgotten how good grilled chicken is.

We talked about many things learning about her family and things we had in common. Things we miss about the states; supermarkets, real napkins, our families, gardening and what will be missed about Spain we decided we won’t know these really until our time here is done, but I suppose I am going to miss walking to the store/café/work, cheap price of produce, sound of church bells.

