Tags

, , , , , , ,

After traveling Japan this summer I fell in love with Udon noodles, especially in curry. When I got back home to Tampa I hunted down Japanese curry mix and a recipe for the noodles. The Tampa Udon experiment went well but as in any first attempt there were things to be learned.

  • Cut your noodles thinner than you want them; they will swell up when cooked.
  • to avoid waste invite a few friends; the recipe makes tons and doesn’t keep well.
  • Wrap dough loosely or plastic will tear [to be understood later].

Saturday after Megan and I booked tickets to go to Istanbul, Turkey, something motivated me to make the Curry Udon for my Italian roommates and Megan, so we planned to have dinner on Sunday evening, the following day. unfortunately Max’s girlfriend couldn’t join us.

Knowing from last year I came prepared with seasonings galore including a few Golden Curry packs, the easy part. I got online to get my recipe and then [apparent] disaster hit. It was all in Imperial US Customary units and I assumed that all measuring cups in Spain would be in Metric but I lucked out and found a measuring cup with both.

Megan helped out by capturing and captioning after cutting and cooking the curry.

Make sure to invite some really great people who can’t make it to dinner so that they gift you a salad to serve with the meal.

First, have someone else make the noodles from scratch so that they are in neat little piles when you arrive. Thanks, Kenny! The piles will motivate you to chop all of the vegetables for the broth quickly.

The noodles are:

  • 3 3/4 Cups of wheat flour
  • 3 Teaspoons of salt
  • 1 Cup of water

The basic process involves kneading until your arms and hands cramp then throwing the dough in a plastic bag, wrapping it in a towel and walking on it in circles, rolling it out and cutting noodle shaped pieces.

After the veggies are in the broth, you’ll want to select a ball of noodles and make sure the noodles haven’t stuck together before boiling.

Boil the noodles for just a few minutes; it doesn’t take long because they are fresh!

All done!

Rinse the noodles with cool water to stop them from cooking and remove any excess starch to prevent them from sticking. They’ll reheat when you add the broth.

Speaking of broth: the broth of the day was golden curry with beef and vegetables, and a little pot on the top that is vegetarian just for me. The Italian roommates loved it!

The broth was:

  • one Golden Curry pack
  • 8 cups of water [you can make it as thick or soupy as you want]
  • 1.5 onions
  • red pepper and green pepper
  • 2 potatoes
  • 2 carrots
  • stew meat cut into small pieces [try chicken also]

As you finish each ball of udon noodles, you can place them in individual serving bowls to pour broth over when everything is ready.

Unfortunately, once the broth was in my bowl I ate it up immediately and forgot to take a picture. Try it yourself, and see if you remember to take a picture.

I may have mentioned that I am applying to the JET program, to teach and live in Japan for a year or who knows how long. More than teaching and living I would be a cultural ambassador, in charge of bringing American culture to Japan and Japanese culture to the US and abroad. From my two week trip there I feel I have a ton to learn about Japan and an alternative America to bring to Japan. Hopefully I’m selected for an interview and make it into the program.

Megan, Thanks again for the pictures, captions, help and company.

 

