Tags

, , , , ,

After many stories of, “that was the worst, most nauseating flight of my life” i was thoroughly pumped to head down to the airport, being someone who gets motion sick in about 5 minutes if i’m not the one behind the wheel.

I went out to get some cash before my 9am van came to pick me up. as i was crossing the road a van stopped to ask where I was going and some confusion happened which made me and him think he was supposed to be taking me to the airport. he stopped for me to get cash but my Spanish card wouldn’t work, leaving me with 25 soles or about 10 bucks cash in my pocket and no way to access any more cash.  [My american one hasn’t worked since I got here and is unresolvable until I return home.]

Whatever I got to to the airport and figured I could pay the 25 sole with credit card like the driver said. When I got to the airline desk they had me fill in my info then told me the price. Wait, I already paid i explained and they called around and agreed to put me on a flight soon.

I sat around for a half hour and ran into the Hawaiian family I met back  at Cruz del Condor; there really is a Gringo Trail as they call it. finally they OKed me to pass through security but then realized I hadn’t paid the airport tax. Afraid i would lose my money and flight I said I will come back and pay later and eventually they agreed. So now I have a 40 sol hostal, 25 sol debt to a travel agency and no way to pay any of it nor any way to head north besides maybe hitchhiking and running from my debt. IMG_0074 (640x371)

No time to think about that I had a tiny plane to catch. The 7 of us got into the Sesna 206, the Argentinians joking that they put my in the very back seat because i’m the lightest, which was fine with me it meant more room . Seatbelts buckled and headphones on we heard the staticky voice come across the radio authorizing us to take off and the whole plane started to shake and vibrate as the pilot increased the throttle. I was slightly nervous after reading about several crashes due to shoddy maintenance , old and under-fueled planes and many other causes. Supposedly all of that is in the past and the government is now doing a better job of regulating the flights.

 

IMG_0075 (640x335) IMG_0081 (640x361)

The plane bounced on every little current of air and the pilot added to my nausea, flying circles around the various drawings in the desert with the wings almost perpendicular to the horizon. I would listen for the co pilot to say what the drawing would be then open my eyes take a look and close them, Waiting for the next. It was the only think I could do to keep from losing my cookies besides taking a Dramamine which I did an hour before the flight.

The lines were made about 1,500 years ago by the Nazca people, who removed the rocks from the desert floor revealing the white subsurface. how they were made isn’t so impressive; archaeologists have recreated some drawings with primitive tools but what is fascinating is that no one can figure out why they were made. there are quite a few theories such as alien landing strips, calendars, maps, and that they were meant to be enjoyed by royalty from aboard a type of hot air balloon.

One of the most interesting figures is called “the Mandella” but unfortunately our flight didn’t pass over it since it is much more remote. It’s a circle inscribed in a square with some smaller squares in the center. Check out The Mandela

IMG_0093 (640x394)

Said to be an astronaut or alien or owl man.

IMG_0101 (640x294)

Monkey

IMG_0103 (640x320)

Dog

IMG_0111 (640x427)

There are lines and shapes all over the desert which I think are more impressive than the drawings of figures.

IMG_0115 (640x227)

humming bird

IMG_0117 (640x314)

Condor

IMG_0121 (640x297)

Spider

IMG_0123 (640x446)

Tree and something else

IMG_0116 (640x320)

We landed and I spent the next several hours just sleeping trying to overcome the nausea. Thankfully I never got sick though. do you think you can handle the Nazca Vomit Comet?

