Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Now that the weather is starting to warm back up, people are visiting the mountains and parks around Seoul. Yesterday my girlfriend and I went for a walk around one of them, which reminded me of something I have been meaning to mention here.

When I go to a park it is generally to get away from crowds and noise. Korea’s streets can have plenty of both. There are often speakers on storefronts blaring music, adding to the chaos of the honking and revving vehicles. As you pass from one store to the next, you get jarring musical contrasts, from profanity filled hip-hop [which i’m OK with at times and in certain places] to classical music.

In the city it’s one thing but in parks I would like to hear a bird or rustling tree. Instead those sounds of nature are clouded out by music being imposed on its citizens, playing from Bose speakers hooked up to light poles. I’m not sure if they like it or just accept it.

speakers in parksOn the same line of thought when hiking or in general, and I find this is mostly the case with older people, Why do they blast Trot music from a tiny radio? can they not afford head phones or do they just not give a damn about the fact that other people might not want to hear it?

Would you like to listen to this while trudging up the side of a mountain looking for serenity and peace from a bustling city?

