Tags

, ,

My girlfriend does these drawings of flowers using a stippling technique. She uses a magnifying glass so she can more accurately place each dot. Just having fun and being curious I picked up her magnifying glass and noticed that it fit perfectly around the filter on my 85mm Canon lens.

IMG_0002

While not perfect, obviously, since it isn’t a $500 solution,  I think it might be possible to get some passable macro images for web viewing with this technique.

If you have been trying to take pictures up-close and personal with your subjects you know that your camera has some focal limitations. the closest distance that you can possibly obtain a sharp image is called the “Minimum Focal Distance”.

This distance on my Canon 85mm 1.8 is normally just under one meter but when the magnifying glass was applied it cut it down to about 1/3 of a meter. effectively allowing me to “zoom in” closer to my subject.

These are two sets of pictures demonstrating the effect of the magnifying glass. While not fabulous, they demonstrate the possibilities.

IMG_7627 IMG_7628 IMG_7637 IMG_7636

If you live in Seoul and want to try just for fun the magnifying glass is only 1,000 Won (0.75 USD) at Daiso or try your local dollar store.

Also, You can check out my girlfriends works on her Tumblr.

