Tags

, , ,

Ji had some paperwork to take care of at her former university so we hopped a train From Seoul over to Daejeon and took care of the paperwork after a small delay.

I had my orientation in Daejeon 10 days short of one year ago and Ji and I visited back in May, though the weather wasn’t in our favor then and we weren’t able to do too much. I did however get drenched while trying to hide a letterbox.

This time we headed back to where I hid the letterbox, Gyeryeongsan National Park, to soak up some much needed nature. We dodged the blazing 95 degree heat by walking a windy, tree-lined one lane, back road with small traditional homes and mini mansions, both with yards filled with rows of crops.

Entrance Garden House
Almost beneath my feet as we passed by one house, there was a massive tarp/net with hundreds of peppers peppers drying in the sun.Almost beneath my feet as we passed by one house, there was a massive tarp/net with hundreds of peppers peppers drying in the sun.

The stream that runs out of the entrance of the park was now full of head high greenery. A few people wandered out and a few more entered along with us. I fought a few spiders to gain access to check on the letterbox and am happy to report that it is still dry and alive.

The letterbox location was as far as I had gone into the park so everything that came next was a beautiful surprise. I love getting out to nature and camping especially when it involves peaceful places around water; I was kicking myself for not bringing the camping gear despite having discussed it.

Rock Bed
Small Fall

Though the water has mostly dried up for the summer, it seems, there was still a refreshing trickle coming down this wall. The sound nearly put both of us to sleep as we leaned back and took in the car-free surroundings.

