Tags

, , , ,

Going back to my second post on this blog you can see the small garden that I left behind when I headed to Spain back in 2011. I spent so much time in the garden but it was a form of meditation after studying and teaching and I loved every minute of it minus all the mosquito filled, summer evenings.

DSC01024

My first year in Spain I didn’t get a chance to do any gardening though I did go to the Saffron festival in Consuegra, Spain and was given one saffron plant that never survived the winter. I also would visit the community gardens, down by the Alcazar in Segovia, from time to time.

DSC01920 edit

When I moved to Sevilla my second year I was involved for a short time in the Communal gardens down in the Alamillo Park, I even had a key to the gate and everything. Eventually the weather got cold and I never got back into it in the spring.

Now in Seoul I have tried to get involved with Seoul Urban farmers once but they have been very inactive so I sort of gave up and found new interests.

A few weeks ago I was out walking around Mullae, an area of Seoul known for its metal working shops and urban Art, which I wrote about a while back. I was looking for a shop that could weld a piece that broke off of my mini tripod. I had a general idea of where to go but was sort of zig zagging along through the neighborhood when I saw an open block, fenced in, with an open gate. I stopped in for a few minutes. i cant find much information in English about the Mullae City Garden or     “문래도시텃밭” , but there was a Korean guy there with his kids. We spoke for a few minutes about the garden. all I really gathered was that members have to submit a request with the municipality and wait for a slot to open before being given roughly 10 square meters. Garden Gloves Gate Garden Glove Tower Tank Gloves Row Greens Leafy Original

The strangest thing in the garden; Cotton. I believe a school was using a section of the farm to grow it.

The strangest thing in the garden; Cotton. I believe a school was using a section of the farm to grow it.

There are some traditional style pavilions that would serve well for a quiet picnic.

There are some traditional style pavilions that would serve well for a quiet picnic.

